No one expects a fun evening on the town to end with a DUI (or a DWI) charge. However, the reality is that if a person is not careful and does not plan before an evening out, they could find themselves stopped at a sobriety checkpoint and possibly facing charges. While it is harmless to have a few drinks with friends, driving while under the influence is a serious problem that happens each passing day by many individuals. If you find yourself facing DWI charges and a day in court, you may wonder what the possible outcomes may be. Knowing the law can let you know what could happen after your day in court. In North Carolina, a blood alcohol level (or BAC) of 0.08% is considered the legal limit for impairment. There are varying levels of DWI to determine exact penalties that are incurred, ranging from level 5 to level 1, with level 1 being the most serious. If you are facing a level 5 DWI charge, you may anticipate the following penalties:
- A maximum of 60 days in jail
- Suspension of license for up to 30 days
- A fine of $200
- Assessment of substance abuse
Again these are level 5 penalties, which is the lowest level of DWI. After this level, penalties escalate, with the most severe being level 1.
Is a DWI a felony in North Carolina?
DWI’s can vary between felony and misdemeanor with different penalties for each. This is exclusive of the level system in place. Before you become concerned that you have committed a felony, understand that there are certain key aspects that make this distinction. Most charges are considered misdemeanors. These can be escalated to a felony if you are over the limit and are operating without a license, you’ve had previous DWI charges, you have a child in the car while inebriated, or even if you injure or kill a person while intoxicated. Felonies are serious crimes and come with serious penalties for you to contend with, including heavier fines, long prison sentences, and more.
How long does it take for a DWI to come off your record in North Carolina?
As with points on your record for other issues, DWI points can also be removed. However, up until that point they can be used in consideration for any other court or legal situation you may have to deal with. These points will remain visible on your record for a period fo 7 years, whereupon they will drop off. It can affect your vehicle insurance for at least 3 years as well. In order to make your best case for court and to deal with your DWI and DUI charges, it is important that you have your freedom. Have you been arrested while facing a DWI charge? Grimes Bail Bonding & Notary Services, LLC is here to assist you with bail bonds services. Give us a call today at (252) 671-2297!