As an Americans, we have the right to bear arms, but each state will have their own laws. Weapon laws are put in to place to protect people and prevent anything bad from happening. Depending on what type of weapon and the crime is going to depend on what kind of charge and penalty a person receives. Below are some of the weapon charges and penalties in the state of North Carolina.
Some Weapon Charges and Penalties in the State
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon: According to North Carolina firearm laws, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon on their person. The only time a person is able to do this is if they have a permit to carry, which usually pertains to a firearm. Types of concealed weapons a person cannot carry Bowie Knife, dirk, dagger, slung shot, loaded cane, metallic knuckles, razor, shuriken, stun gun, or another deadly weapon. The charge is usually a Class 2 misdemeanor, which is up to 120 days in jail.
- Possession of a Firearm By a Felon: If someone has been committed of a felony, they no longer have the right to carry, purchase, or own a firearm. If a person is caught having a firearm, a Class G felony, which is punishable by up to 32 months.
- Carrying Weapons Into Establishments Where Alcohol is Sold and Consumed: If someone were to go into a bar, concert, restaurant, or another establishment that carries and sells alcohol with a weapon, they would be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail.